Carlton N. Parker Award

The Carlton N. Parker Award is the most prestigious award presented to an individual by the National Procurement Institute (NPI). The criteria for receiving the award, as established by the NPI Board of Directors, requires that the nominee has made outstanding contributions to the development and progress of NPI and the public procurement profession.

All NPI members are encouraged to nominate a public procurement professional who is deserving of this award.

Nominations for the 2024 Carlton N. Parker Award are due by Thursday, July 25, 2024.

Submit a Nomination 

2023 Carlton N. Parker Award Recipient

History of the Award

At the March 1975 Board of Directors meeting, held at the Antlers Plaza Hotel in Colorado President Ed Smith established a committee to design and recommend procedures and policies for the purpose of awarding any special awards.  This committee would have the responsibility of the name of the award, how often it should be given and for what purpose.  Members of this committee were Bill Bonds, Dora Byington and Floyd Nesbitt.

The committee recommended that the award be named the Special Award for Outstanding Service (SAFOS).  The Boards of Directors accepted the name and directed the committee to nominate a candidate.  The first recipient, Anthony J. “Tony” Piperi, C.P.O. was awarded the SAFOS at the Conference in New Orleans in July 1975.  The last person to receive the Special Award for Outstanding Service was Ken Laverty, C.P.M. in 2001. 

Carlton N. Parker

In 2002, the SAFOS award was renamed the “Carlton N. Parker Award for Outstanding Service” to memorialize Carlton, who was the President of NPI from 1995 to 1997 and the recipient of a SAFOS award for his contributions to the advancement of NPI and the public procurement profession.  The first recipient of this award was Yolanda Jones, C.P.M. of Las Vegas.

Being recognized by your peers for outstanding services is both exhilarating and humbling.  Any member of NPI in good standing may nominate someone for this award.  The nominee does not have to be a member of NPI.

Each year at the Presidential Banquet, the recipient of the Carlton N. Parker Award is announced.  The Carlton N. Parker award was formerly known as the Special Award for Outstanding Services (SAFOS Award).

Past recipients of the SAFOS or CNP Award are:

  • Robert Ashby, C.P.M., CPCM
  • John L Balentine, C.P.M.
  • Jack Beacham, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Dora Byington, C.P.M.
  • Bill Bonds, C.P.M.
  • Dan M. Brock, C.P.M.
  • John W. Brooks, C.P.M.
  • Wayne Casper, C.P.M.
  • Arthur Croissant, C.P.M.
  • January Cook, CPPO, CPPB
  • Michael Derr
  • Amorelle (Amy) Feille
  • Beth Fleming, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Henry Garcia, C.P.M.
  • Brian P. Garrity, CPSM, C.P.M., CPPB
  • Christine Green, C.P.M.
  • Sharan Gunn, C.P.M.
  • Earl Hawkes, C.P.M.
  • Bert Holfeltz, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Yolanda (Yoli) Jones, C.P.M.
  • Pamela J. Kirkland, CPPO, CPPB
  • Ken Laverty, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Tammy Ma, C.P.M., CPPB
  • David V Mackey, C.P.M.
  • John Marshall, C.P.M.
  • William A. Martin, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Penny Marchell, C.P.M.
  • Jack McCown, C.P.M.
  • Duncan D. McDonald, C.P.M.
  • Edward McMullen
  • Melissa Lee, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Jim Murray
  • Diane Palmer-Boeck, CPPO
  • Carlton Parker, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Ronald Piperi, C.P.M.
  • Tony Piperi, C.P.O.
  • Christina Pryor, CPPO, CPPB
  • Tammy Rimes, MPA
  • Christopher Robinson, CPSM
  • Craig Rowley, C.P.M.
  • Mike Ryan
  • David Seward, C.P.M., CPPO
  • Harold Shaw, C.P.M.
  • Tom D. Shaw, C.P.M., A.P.P.
  • Blake Skiles, NIGP-CPP, CPPB, CPPM, CPP, CPC
  • Ed H. Smith, C.P.M.
  • Stephen Topagna
  • Roy L. Thomas
  • Archie Titzman, C.P.M.
  • Elbert C. Wood, C.P.M.
  • Donald J. Woods, JD, C.P.M.

Our Partners

   |           |            |       |        |       |       |       |       |       |       |